One Little Word // Eireneuo Peace

My word for 2016 is Eireneuo.

It all started at the beginning of December. I made a drastic change that I felt God was calling me to do and afterwards the overwhelming feeling of peace was enough to convince me that I was following his will.  Psalm 119:165-167 “Those who love Your law have great peace, And nothing causes them to stumble. I hope for Your salvation, O Lord, And do Your commandments. My soul keeps Your testimonies, And I love them exceedingly.”

Then just as I feeling and loving this peace from God, I was given a test to shake my faith. The first was my mother-in-laws cats as both passed unexpectedly fast and so close to the Holiday season. I understand that death is part of life, Ecclesiastes 12:7 “and the dust returns to the earth as it was, and the spirit returns to God who gave it”, yet that doesn’t make their passing easier. We do not find enjoyment in death. However, God has given us the keys to death through His Son; John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life”. In Him I found peace during that difficult time.

The second test happened when my brother, Soren, had a seizure and had to be admitted to the hospital. If God was ever giving me a test, I feel this would be the one. Currently, I live two hours from him so going to visit him often is hard. I feel guilty when my brother is in the hospital because I can’t be there to help my family as they need. However, I can have peace in God that He will provide the strength (Isaiah 40:29) and community (Psalm 133:1) that my family needs. I can be the praying pillar for my family. (Philippians 4:6-9) Guess what? God did just that and more! Soren was found blemish-less (Micah ).

Through all of those, I felt only the power of peace that can be found when I remembered how big our God is, Psalm 157:5 “Great is our Lord, and abundant in power; his understanding is beyond measure”. I felt God calling me all through December. He was saying abide in Him (John 15:4-7) and I find the rest that peace provides (Isaiah 57:2).

Subscribe to Art Techinques

* indicates required

Email Address *

First Name
Last Name

Published by

Cody Doll

I'm Cody and this is my digital Studio. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

